Friday, July 18, 2008

What Are the Cybils?

The American Library Association awards are chosen by librarians.

The National Book Awards are chosen by writers.

And now the Cybils are chosen by bloggers. Note that nominations are open to "anyone with an email address." How's that for democracy?

It's too soon to know whether publishers will start pasting "Cybils Winner" medallions on winning books; they just started in 2006. But Candlewick Press, which put out the 2007 Newbery winner, Good Masters! Sweet Ladies!, notes on its site that the book made the Cybils shortlist. I take that a a good sign.

No comments:

Creative Commons License
This work by Meredith C. Moore is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.